Compare state education data
Skip to content
U.S. Education Data

Louisiana Education Statistics 2026: Schools, Enrollment & Spending

Louisiana reported 666,840 public school students, 1,308 operating schools, 189 operating districts, and 48,637 full-time-equivalent teachers in school year 2024–25.

Fiscal year 2024 current spending was $15,581 per pupil. School counts and enrollment come from NCES, while finance measures come from the U.S. Census Bureau.

Geography: Louisiana School data: 2024–25 Finance data: FY2024 Sector: Public pre-K–12 Updated: 2026

Louisiana Education Snapshot

Each statistic retains the reporting period used by its official source.

Public school enrollment
666,840
NCES student membership, 2024–25
Operating public schools
1,308
NCES, 2024–25
Operating districts
189
NCES, 2024–25
Teachers
48,637
Full-time-equivalent teachers, 2024–25
Pupil–teacher ratio
13.7
Students per teacher FTE, 2024–25
Current spending per pupil
$15,581
Nominal dollars, FY2024

Louisiana and U.S. Current Spending per Pupil

Public elementary-secondary school systems, fiscal year 2024

Louisiana spent $15,581 per pupil compared with the U.S. average of $17,619.
Louisiana: $15,581
U.S. average: $17,619
Difference: −$2,038

Current spending covers operating costs and excludes capital outlay, debt service, and non-elementary-secondary programs. Values are not adjusted for inflation or regional prices.

Chart analysis
  • Louisiana current spending was $2,038 per pupil below the national average.
  • The Louisiana value was 11.6% below the U.S. figure.
  • Both values are nominal FY2024 amounts.
  • Capital projects and debt payments are outside this spending measure.

Louisiana Public Education Indicator Table

The comparison column reports Louisiana’s share of published national counts. The 2024–25 U.S. teacher total and pupil–teacher ratio are unavailable because Tennessee teacher data are not reported.

Louisiana and U.S. public education indicators
Indicator Louisiana U.S. Comparison Period Source
Student membership 666,840 49,269,882 1.35% of U.S. 2024–25 NCES CCD
Operating schools 1,308 99,073 1.32% of U.S. 2024–25 NCES CCD
Operating districts 189 19,183 0.99% of U.S. 2024–25 NCES CCD
Teacher FTE 48,637 — U.S. total unavailable 2024–25 NCES CCD
Pupil–teacher ratio 13.7 — U.S. ratio unavailable 2024–25 NCES CCD
Regular schools 1,255 90,249 1.39% of U.S. 2024–25 NCES CCD
Special education schools 13 1,859 0.70% of U.S. 2024–25 NCES CCD
Career and technical schools 10 1,587 0.63% of U.S. 2024–25 NCES CCD
Alternative education schools 30 5,378 0.56% of U.S. 2024–25 NCES CCD
Charter schools 146 8,048 1.81% of U.S. 2024–25 NCES CCD
Charter share of schools 11.2% 8.1% +3.0 points 2024–25 Derived from NCES
Current spending per pupil $15,581 $17,619 −$2,038 FY2024 U.S. Census Bureau
Federal revenue share 19.2% 11.6% +7.6 points FY2024 U.S. Census Bureau
Table analysis
  • Louisiana accounted for 1.35% of national public school membership in 2024–25.
  • The state reported a 13.7 pupil–teacher ratio. A 2024–25 U.S. ratio is not published because Tennessee teacher data are unavailable.
  • Charter schools represented 11.2% of Louisiana operating schools, compared with 8.1% nationally.
  • Louisiana’s federal revenue share was 7.6 percentage points above the national share.
  • Charter status overlaps the NCES school-type categories and must not be added to the four school-type counts.
  • Finance figures and NCES membership figures use different reporting rules and periods.

Public School Enrollment Trend

NCES Common Core of Data counts for four consecutive school years.

Louisiana Student Membership, 2021–22 to 2024–25

Public pre-K through grade 13 membership, excluding adult education

Enrollment was 683,216 in 2021–22, 718,145 in 2022–23, 708,190 in 2023–24, and 666,840 in 2024–25.

Membership decreased by 41,350 students between 2023–24 and 2024–25, leaving the latest count below the 2021–22 level.

Trend analysis
  • Membership reached 718,145 in 2022–23.
  • The 2023–24 count declined by 9,955 students, or 1.4%.
  • The 2024–25 count declined by 41,350 students, or 5.8%, from 2023–24.
  • Membership in 2024–25 was 16,376 students below the 2021–22 level.
Louisiana public school system trend
School year Schools Districts Membership Teacher FTE Ratio
2021–22 1,367 198 683,216 38,773 17.6
2022–23 1,337 194 718,145 41,110 17.5
2023–24 1,316 190 708,190 48,864 14.5
2024–25 1,308 189 666,840 48,637 13.7
Table analysis
  • Operating school counts declined from 1,367 to 1,308 across the four releases.
  • Operating district counts declined from 198 to 189.
  • Reported teacher FTE measured 48,637 in 2024–25, down 227 from the prior year.
  • The pupil–teacher ratio moved from 14.5 in 2023–24 to 13.7 in 2024–25.
  • Changes in reported teacher counts can reflect staffing changes, reporting revisions, or both.

Louisiana Public Schools by Type

The four NCES school types are mutually exclusive. Charter is a separate status classification.

Operating School Type Distribution

School year 2024–25

Louisiana had 1,255 regular, 13 special education, 10 career and technical, and 30 alternative education schools.

Regular schools accounted for 95.9% of the 1,308 operating schools classified by NCES.

Chart analysis
  • 1,255 schools were classified as regular schools.
  • Alternative education accounted for 30 schools.
  • Special education and career and technical classifications totaled 23 schools.
Louisiana operating public schools by NCES classification
Classification Classification basis Schools Share Period
Regular School type 1,255 95.9% 2024–25
Special education School type 13 1.0% 2024–25
Career and technical School type 10 0.8% 2024–25
Alternative education School type 30 2.3% 2024–25
All operating schools School-type total 1,308 100.0% 2024–25
Charter Status; overlaps school types 146 11.2% 2024–25
Table analysis
  • The four school-type rows sum to the statewide total of 1,308.
  • Charter status applied to 146 schools.
  • Charter schools are already included within the operating-school total.

What the Louisiana Data Shows

The measures describe system scale, staffing, school organization, and public school finance.

Enrollment Scale

Louisiana represented 1.35% of national public school membership in the 2024–25 NCES data.

School Structure

Regular schools made up 95.9% of operating schools. Charter status applied to 11.2% of the 2024–25 statewide total.

Operating Spending

Louisiana’s FY2024 current spending per pupil was below the national average. The measure does not include construction or debt service.

Revenue Mix

Federal sources supplied 19.2% of Louisiana school-system revenue, compared with 11.6% nationally.

Reporting Periods

School statistics use school years. Finance statistics use fiscal years. The two periods should remain separately labeled.

Enrollment Denominators

NCES statewide membership and Census finance enrollment can differ because the finance survey applies separate reporting-unit and enrollment rules.

Source and Methodology

Schools, Districts, Enrollment, and Teachers

NCES Common Core of Data, 2024–25 Summary Table 2. The source uses 2024–25 Final Version 1a school, agency, and state nonfiscal files.

School Types and Charter Status

NCES Common Core of Data, 2024–25 Summary Table 3. Every operating school receives one school type; charter is recorded separately.

Louisiana Data Portal

Louisiana Department of Education enrollment data and financial data provide state files by school and school system.

Coverage: NCES counts include operating public elementary and secondary schools and districts. Membership includes prekindergarten through grade 13 and excludes adult education. Teachers are reported as full-time equivalents. The 2024–25 U.S. teacher total and pupil–teacher ratio are unavailable because Tennessee teacher data are not reported.

Finance definition: Current spending covers instruction, support services, and other operating functions. Census finance figures exclude capital outlay, debt service, and non-elementary-secondary programs from current spending.

Calculations: Percentages and differences were calculated from the published values. Shares are rounded to one or two decimal places, so displayed components may not reproduce unrounded results exactly.

Methodological Safety Note

The year 2026 identifies the page edition, not a single data period. School-system measures use 2024–25 data, while spending and revenue measures use FY2024 data. Dollar values are nominal and are not adjusted for inflation or Louisiana’s regional price level. Differences in spending, staffing, or revenue mix do not establish differences in school quality or student outcomes.